Mission Reputation – Feature Preview

Today we are launching a new Mission Reputation feature. Unlike our previous features, we are reserving the right to remove this feature after a week or so as we evaluate and tweak the system, so please do give it a try!

Reputation will be based on a member-to-member rating and correlated with specific Missions.

1. Mission creators can rate their Mission completers from the Mission Dashboard => Completed Details page for any particular Mission

2. Mission completers can rate Mission creators from the Mission View page, immediately after they have completed a Mission

Mission Ratings can be Positive or Negative, and can also include a reason. In the case of a Negative rating a reason will be required. We will be putting in place systems and algorithms to prevent the rating system being used in an abusive manner. If you like a Mission or how someone completed a Mission for you, you should give them a positive rating. While it may not be apparent now, giving someone kudos could mean a lot in the future.

At this time we have no plans to publish nor release any specific Reputation system data to members or through the API.  The data will be used behind the scenes to provide a better experience to all Missions users!

As noted above, we are releasing this in a preview fashion for about 1 week while we evaluate the metrics which are being recorded.  After such time we will evaluate the quality of the data collected and decide to either let it continue, or modify it as necessary.

More Missions Enhancements

We have released more enhancements to Missions:

Auto Archiving.  After pouring over all the previous Missions, 99% of all Mission Completions have occurred during the first 13-14 days that a Mission is active.  After this period, the likelihood of a Mission being completely exhausted diminishes to near zero.  To make Missions more relevant and useful for all we will now be automatically archiving Missions at the 15 day mark. Remaining Reward refunds will be issued the same as if you archived it yourself.  You will be able to rerun these Auto Archived Missions with the new Rerun Mission feature – which will get your aging Mission more exposure, higher up in the list!  Also Missions that are completely exhausted will be automatically archived later that day.  Existing Missions will have their expiry time set to 15 days from today.

Retiring YouTube Channel Subscription Missions.  Due to inconsistencies with the YouTube API, and the resulting support requests for YouTube Missions that simply did not work completely as we intended, we have decided to retire the YouTube Channel Subscribe Mission type.  Existing YouTube Channel Subscription Missions will continue to run until they expire as per above.

New Mission Types.  As a way to continue to support YouTube Missions, we have added some new Mission types in replacement for the retired Channel Subscriptions.  These types let you embed YouTube Channels, YouTube Videos, and Twitter Tweets directly into the Mission!  Other than the external content now being embedded within the Mission details, these new Mission types are otherwise identical to normal Web Destination (URL) Missions in how they operate.  Please note, for someone to claim your Mission Reward they will still need to click the “Claim Reward” button above the embedded content.  All three of these new ’embedding’ types feature full 3rd party functionality (YouTube Subscribing/Liking/etc and Twitter Retweet/Follow/etc).

Missions Enhancement: Rerun

I would like to announce a new enhancement to Missions:  You can now ‘rerun’ a Mission that has been previously archived!

This will allow you to add more Rewards to an existing Mission, while retaining all other aspects of it – including who previously completed it, so they cannot complete it again.

You cannot change any other property of a Mission (title, link URL, size of reward, etc) when you rerun it.

Any previously-archived Mission can be rerun.  However a Mission can only be rerun ONCE per day.  An exception to this rule is if the previous run of a Mission saw ALL available Rewards claimed – you will be able to be rerun these Missions immediately.

Once a Mission has been rerun, the details of each instance is available from the Mission Completions details page, allowing you to track the number of Rewards/Completions per individual run of the same Mission.

Twitter API Update

We have updated our code to use Twitter’s new API v1.1.

Twitter’s v1.0 version of their API has been deprecated and will be retired March 5th 2013. (Here is the announcement from Twitter: https://dev.twitter.com/blog/changes-coming-to-twitter-api)

During this required change over we felt it was a good time to go through all of our Twitter implementation and spruce things up! One of the biggest things we noticed was that in several places we were using the term ‘Twitter Friends’ when we were actually displaying data from your ‘Twitter Followers’. Many data points have now had the wording (with sometimes improved functionality) updated to be consistent to how the data was actually being presented, ala your Twitter ‘Followers’. Heck, who is Following you is a very important part of your engagement so now the website descriptions clearly depict the data you were being presented.

Team Empire Avenue